A hub for world-leading research, innovation and entrepreneurship

Dal Innovates provides opportunities for students and faculty at Dalhousie University to explore and experience innovation and entrepreneurship and develop knowledge, skills, and attitudes necessary to translate new ideas into innovations. We empower you to be the best innovators, creators and entrepreneurs and make an impact on local and global challenges.

Get with the flow

The flow of the Dal Innovates programming follows a logical sequence which can lead students and researchers through a path to innovation and entrepreneurship, recognizing that the actual path students and researchers follow is unique for each venture.

explore arrow
grow arrow
venture arrow

Dal Innovates is made possible by the involvement of committed champions of innovation across the university to provide strategic guidance to ensure coordination and best use of resources.

Members

  • Alice Aiken (Chair), Vice President Research and Innovation
  • Chris Moore, Dean, Faculty of Science and Associate Vice President Academic
  • David Gray, Dean, Faculty of Agriculture
  • Stephen Hartlen, Assistant Vice President of Industry Relations, Office of Commercialization and Industry Engagement
  • Matt Hebb, Assistant Vice President, Government Relations
  • Vivian Howard, Associate Vice President Academic
  • Brenda Merritt, Dean, Faculty of Health
  • Jeff Larsen, Assistant Vice-President, Innovation & Entrepreneurship, Dalhousie
  • Ian Nason, Vice President Finance and Administration
  • John Newhook, Dean, Faculty of Engineering
  • Andrew Rau-Chaplin, Dean, Faculty of Computer Science
  • Chuck Macdonald, Dean, Faculty of Science

The Dal Innovates Team:

Jeff Larsen (He/Him)

Assistant Vice President Innovation & Entrepreneurship

Get in touch with me about: Operations, partnerships and donor relations

jeff.larsen@dal.ca

Spencer Giffin (He/Him)

Director of the Office of Innovation & Entrepreneurship

Get in touch with me about: Operations, partnerships and donor relations

spencer.giffin@dal.ca

Nasil Nam (She/Her)

Associate Director

Get in touch with me about: Operations, partnerships and donor relations

nasil.nam@dal.ca

 

Mike Carew (He/Him)

Program Manager

Get in touch with me about: Lab2Market, and Path2Innovation programs

mwcarew@dal.ca

Rachel Morgan (She/Her)

Program Manager

Get in touch with me about: Ready2Launch, and Collide programs

rachel.morgan@dal.ca

Grace O’Hara (She/Her)

Project Manager

Get in touch with me about: Program Recruitment, Scientist2Entrepreneur and Invention2Innovation programs

grace.ohara@dal.ca

Emily Neil (She/Her)

Project Manager

Get in touch with me about: Dal Innovates communications, and Collide programs

emily.neil@dal.ca

Joe Krawczyk (He/Him)

Coordinator

Get in touch with me about: Social media, website and marketing

joe.k@dal.ca

Isaac Cook (They/Him)

Ecosystem Manager

Get in touch with me about: Events, and partnerships

isaac.cook@dal.ca

Michael Sime (He/Him)

Financial Manager

Get in touch with me about: Program funding, and administration

mikesime@Dal.Ca

Natalie McMullin (She/Her)

Manager, Communications

Get in touch with me about: I-Inc & MindFrame Connect Communications and Marketing

natalie.mcmullin@dal.ca

Meghann Coleman (She/Her)

Director, MindFrame Connect

Get in touch with me about: Operations, partnerships and donor relations

meghann.coleman@dal.ca

Erin Wynn (She/Her)

Manager of Education & Evaluation, MindFrame Connect

Get in touch with me about: Learning design and experiential programming

erin.wynn@dal.ca